Database naming convention

Questions and Answers asked by users to users, about how others use Jet Express.

Database naming convention

Postby lynbarr » Mon Sep 12, 2016 12:45 pm

My DYNAMICS database is not actually named DYNAMICS. Instead, it is called DYN15. I haven't been able to configure my data source because Jet Express keeps looking specifically for DYNAMICS.

Can anyone tell me if named system databases are supported with Jet Express?

Thanks!
lynbarr
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: Database naming convention

Postby MWilson » Mon Sep 12, 2016 1:44 pm

Hello Lynbarr,

I just tested this with Jet Express 2017 and had no issues clicking the drop down menu for 'Database' and choosing an application database that I renamed to 'DYNAMICS15'.
I was able to select my company afterwards and the connection was successful.
If you click on the drop down menu for 'Database' do you not receive a list of databases with your 'DYN15' listed?

Best regards,
MWilson
MWilson
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 8:37 am

Re: Database naming convention

Postby lynbarr » Mon Sep 12, 2016 2:02 pm

No, I do not see a list of database names in the dropdown. I am using SQL authentication with the sa user and password, so I didn't expect any difficulties.

I'll try Windows authentication when I get back to my computer (I'm at home, now).

Thanks,
Lyn
lynbarr
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: Database naming convention

Postby MWilson » Mon Sep 12, 2016 2:33 pm

Hello Lyn,

If you are using 'SA' then you should get a list of databases.
Here is what I see when using Jet Express 2017 for Dynamics GP.
I recreated your same 'DYN15' database name and had no issues selecting it from the list of databases.
Take a look at the screenshots below for reference.
Can you verify what version of Jet Express you have installed (Jet ribbon > About)?

Best regards,
MWilson

Dynamics DB Name.jpg
Dynamics DB Name.jpg (80 KiB) Viewed 2662 times

Dynamics DB Name_2.jpg
Dynamics DB Name_2.jpg (51.84 KiB) Viewed 2662 times
MWilson
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 8:37 am

Re: Database naming convention

Postby lynbarr » Tue Sep 13, 2016 4:38 am

Using both SQL and Windows authentication, the only thing I see in my dropdown for the Dynamics database is DYNAMICS, which is odd, since I have no such database. If I manually type DYN15 and tab off the field, it stays, but if I close & reopen the window, it has reverted to DYNAMICS.

My Jet version is Jet Professional 2017 16.0.16221.0, operating in Jet Express Mode.

I've triple-checked that I'm using the correct server name.

It seems like I'm missing something very basic, but I can't yet figure out what.

Do I need a registration, for Jet Express?

Thanks for any help,
Lyn
lynbarr
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: Database naming convention

Postby MWilson » Tue Sep 13, 2016 10:23 am

Hello Lyn,

Here is what I would try.
Close Excel completely (ensure that no EXCEL.EXE processes are running in Windows Task Manager).
Open Windows Explorer, type %appdata% in the address bar and press enter.
This will bring you to your roaming profile folder "C:\Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\".
Delete the 'Jet Reports' folder.
Close Windows Explorer.
Open Excel and attempt to configure your data source again.
If that still doesn't work, attach a screenshot of what you see when you click the drop down for 'Database'.

Best regards,
MWilson
MWilson
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 8:37 am

Re: Database naming convention

Postby lynbarr » Wed Oct 05, 2016 6:14 am

Thanks for your help, M.

The problem was actually with my SQL instance. I tried to log into GP, found I couldn't, checked whether my SQL service was running, and it wasn't. When I tried to start the service, it wouldn't start. I ended up uninstalling GP, uninstalling SQL, reinstalling everything, and now I'm all back to normal.

This is what I get for continually trying to add customizations on top of customizations on top of customizations! ...It's my test environment, so it happens.

In any case, Jet Express is working great now. Thanks again for your help in troubleshooting.

~Lyn
lynbarr
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: Database naming convention

Postby MWilson » Wed Oct 05, 2016 2:46 pm

Hello Lyn,

That is great news, thank you for the update!

Best regards,
MWilson
MWilson
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 8:37 am


Return to Ask the Community

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest