Using the Sheets Replicator

Questions and Answers asked by users to users, about how others use Jet Express.

Using the Sheets Replicator

Postby Jack.Snodgrass » Wed Nov 30, 2016 3:00 pm

Hello,
I had a question about the Sheets replicator in Jet. Is it possible to have multiple ‘sheets’ functions on the same workbook? I am trying to report on multiple companies and multiple departments within those companies. Is it possible to have Jet create a tab for each department in the company? For example, If I have 5 companies (A,B,C,D,E) and 5 departments in each company (1,2,3,4,5) the tabs I want Jet to produce are:

A1, A2, A3, A4, A5, B1, B2 … E3,E4,E5.

Is this something that can be done in Jet Express?

Thanks,
Jack
Jack.Snodgrass
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 2:21 pm

Re: Using the Sheets Replicator

Postby HPDeskJet » Wed Nov 30, 2016 3:06 pm

Hello Jack -

The NL("Sheets") function is available in Jet Professional.

Jet Express supports the NL("Table") function and the GL() function.
HPDeskJet
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 9:20 am

Re: Using the Sheets Replicator

Postby HPDeskJet » Wed Nov 30, 2016 3:51 pm

To answer your question in a more in-depth manner:

Here are my assumptions:
- using Jet Professional
- using Dynamics NAV
- getting the company names from the Company table
- gettting the department names from the Dimension Value table

I cannot think of a way to do this using a single NL(Sheets) or NL(Filter) function.

The easiest way I can think of would be to use some NL("Rows") functions to create the list.
sample1.png
sample1.png (7.13 KiB) Viewed 3067 times


Copy that list to a static worksheet.
sample2.png
sample2.png (7.2 KiB) Viewed 3067 times


Then, create an NL(Sheets) function that uses that static list:
sample3.png
sample3.png (9.46 KiB) Viewed 3067 times


I hope that helps.
HPDeskJet
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 9:20 am

Re: Using the Sheets Replicator

Postby Jack.Snodgrass » Mon Dec 05, 2016 8:43 am

Thanks for the response, HPDeskJet.

I am actually using Jet Express for Dynamics GP. Although NL(Sheets) is unavailable, GL(Sheets) is a usable function but does not seem to allow replication from a static list. Based on this, I don't think it will be possible using Jet Express. Thanks for the help!
Jack.Snodgrass
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 2:21 pm


Return to Ask the Community

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest